Canadian Poetry Online | University of Toronto Libraries | John Newlove

WHY DO YOU HATE ME?
John Newlove
From: Apology for Absence: Selected Poems 1962-1992. Erin, Ontario: Porcupine’s Quill, 1993. p.145.

So you live of the sea;
and I am the dry acrid land.

You have the sweet fish swimming
and dull mannerly grain grows in me.

Your blood shines in curving darts;
I grow in calculated rows.

So I say I love you,
and you say, Why do you hate me?

I speak in a foreign language.
You don’t know what I say.

Canadian Poetry Online | University of Toronto Libraries | John Newlove.

Write. Talk. Tell me everything.

